Brazilian V8 Stock Cars: Felipe Fraga storms to pole position on his final attempt

Championship leader flew through the 3.696-km circuit to take pole position from Ricardo Mauricio under the chequered flag; Marcos Gomes, Rubens Barrichello and Julio Campos close the top-5 in Curitiba for Brazilian V8 Stock Car?s 450th race

The qualifying session that settled the starting grid for Brazilian V8 Stock Cars round nine, in Curitiba, was not full of surprises. However, the pole position could only be known when the clock was stopped in the end of the session. In this scenario, current championship leader Felipe Fraga was the fastest man and took his second pole position this season with a lap time of 1min19s018.

"We used a different strategy and saved to the very last attempt, on the third lap, unlike the other drivers, who gave it all since the first laps. I am glad it worked, because here in Curitiba starting in front is the safest place to be", the Cimed driver reminded.

His lap was 0s099 faster than Ricardo Maurício. The Eurofarma racer, two-time Stock Car champion, held the provisional pole until Fraga’s final lap. "I have an excellent car. The only problem is that we were in the fifth group of drivers (out of eight) to hit the track, when the surface isn’t in its best conditions grip-wise. Anyway, I am pretty confident and looking forward to the races tomorrow", said Maurício.

Marcos Gomes, Rubens Barrichello, Julio Campos, Thiago Camilo, Daniel Serra, Valdeno Brito, Max Wilson and Felipe Lapenna close the top-10 on Brazilian V8 Stock Cars 450th race of its history. The first heat will be 34 laps long and will start at 1 pm (local time); race two have a 10-place reversed grid for 23 laps, starting 2:10 pm.

Qualifying Results:
1-) 88 Felipe Fraga (Cimed Racing) - 1min19s018
2-) 90 Ricardo Mauricio (Eurofarma RC) - 1min19s117
3-) 80 Marcos Gomes (Cimed Racing) - 1min19s129
4-) 111 Rubens Barrichello (Full Time Sports) - 1min19s238
5-) 4 Julio Campos (C2 Axalta Racing) - 1min19s240
6-) 21 Thiago Camilo (Ipiranga-RCM) - 1min19s263
7-) 29 Daniel Serra (Red Bull Racing) - 1min19s310
8-) 77 Valdeno Brito (TMG Racing) - 1min19s339
9-) 65 Max Wilson (Eurofarma RC) - 1min19s363
10-) 110 Felipe Lapenna (Hot Car Competições) - 1min19s402
11-) 18 Allam Khodair (Full Time Sports) - 1min19s423
12-) 10 Ricardo Zonta (Shell Racing) - 1min19s477
13-) 12 Lucas Foresti (Full Time-ProGP) - 1min19s538
14-) 0 Cacá Bueno (Red Bull Racing) - 1min19s561
15-) 70 Diego Nunes (União Química Racing) - 1min19s565
16-) 51 Átila Abreu (Shell Racing) - 1min19s576
17-) 63 Nestor Girolami (Eisenbahn Racing Team) - 1min19s594
18-) 46 Vitor Genz (Eisenbahn Racing Team) - 1min19s620
19-) 28 Galid Osman (Ipiranga-RCM) - 1min19s664
20-) 73 Sergio Jimenez (Cavaleiro Sports) - 1min19s702
21-) 83 Gabriel Casagrande (C2 Axalta Racing) - 1min19s765
22-) 9 Guga Lima (TMG Racing) - 1min19s828
23-) 5 Denis Navarro (Vogel Motorsport) - 1min19s866
24-) 8 Rafael Suzuki (Vogel Motorsport) - 1min20s007
25-) 3 Bia Figueiredo (União Química Racing) - 1min20s117
26-) 26 Raphael Abbate (Hot Car Competições) - 1min20s367
27-) 25 Tuka Rocha (RZ Motorsport) - 1min20s420
28-) 56 Danilo Dirani (RZ Motorsport) 1min20s649
29-) 99 Xandynho Negrão (Cavaleiro Sports) - 1min20s956
*Results subject to approval by the stewards