Brazilian V8 Stock Cars: Cascavel features the fastest laps of the season

Thiago Camilo lead the first free practice of the weekend on the track of his very last Stock Car victory

Brazilian V8 Stock Cars kicked off this Friday for the sixth round of the season at Cascavel. The western city of the Paraná state brings a circuit which is a delight for drivers. The "Brazilian Spa-Francorchamps" features a high-speed combination of ascents and descents, five left turns and only two to the right, generating laptimes with an average speed close to 180 kph - Brazilian Formula 3, for example, laps the 3.058 circuit below one minute with a 200kph average.

Thiago Camilo was the fastest man on Friday. He lead the free practice session with a time of 1min02s379, topping the timesheets in front of Ricardo Maurício, Valdeno Brito, Argentinian Nestor Girolami and the championship leader Felipe Fraga closing the five fastest drivers of the day.

Camilo, who comes from a podium finish in Tarumã the previous round, hopes do engage a reaction in his championship campaign exactly on the track where he had won for the last time in the series. "It has been a complicated year for us. We have a competitive package, but by a series of circumstances we haven’t been putting this into decent results", he claimed.

He might know that Cascavel is the right place to do so. "Our car is fast and well balanced. We are going for it. Cascavel features one of the most challenging corners in the Brazilian calendar. It is a fast circuit, which I like very much. Let’s hope to initiate a reaction now", he said.

The cars hit the track this Saturday for a free practice - broadcast live on Stock Car official YouTube channel (link below), and the qualifying session. Races will be held on Sunday at 1 and 2:10 pm (Brazilian time).

Free Practice 1:
1-) 21 Thiago Camilo (Ipiranga-RCM) - 1min02s125
2-) 90 Ricardo Mauricio (Eurofarma RC) - 1min02s266
3-) 77 Valdeno Brito (TMG Racing) - 1min02s379
4-) 63 Nestor Girolami (Eisenbahn Racing Team) - 1min02s442
5-) 88 Felipe Fraga (Cimed Racing) - 1min02s473
6-) 80 Marcos Gomes (Cimed Racing) - 1min02s486
7-) 65 Max Wilson (Eurofarma RC) - 1min02s495
8-) 28 Galid Osman (Ipiranga-RCM) - 1min02s537
9-) 4 Julio Campos (C2 Axalta Racing) - 1min02s539
10-) 83 Gabriel Casagrande (C2 Axalta Racing) - 1min02s645
11-) 10 Ricardo Zonta (Shell Racing) - 1min02s687
12-) 29 Daniel Serra (Red Bull Racing) - 1min02s744
13-) 110 Felipe Lapenna (Hot Car Competições) - 1min02s745
14-) 0 Cacá Bueno (Red Bull Racing) - 1min02s767
15-) 11 Cesar Ramos (RZ Motorsport) - 1min02s770
16-) 111 Rubens Barrichello (Full Time Sports) - 1min02s774
17-) 12 Lucas Foresti (Full Time-ProGP) - 1min02s798
18-) 8 Rafael Suzuki (Vogel Motorsport) - 1min02s808
19-) 9 Guga Lima (TMG Racing) - 1min02s819
20-) 56 Danilo Dirani (RZ Motorsport) - 1min02s822
21-) 70 Diego Nunes (União Química Racing) - 1min02s864
22-) 5 Denis Navarro (Vogel Motorsport) - 1min02s911
23-) 51 Átila Abreu (Shell Racing) - 1min02s912
24-) 73 Sergio Jimenez (Cavaleiro Sports) - 1min02s959
25-) 66 Felipe Guimarães (Full Time-ProGP) - 1min03s204
26-) 46 Vitor Genz (Eisenbahn Racing Team) - 1min03s233
27-) 18 Allam Khodair (Full Time Sports) - 1min03s251
28-) 26 Raphael Abbate (Hot Car Competições) - 1min03s373
29-) 74 Popó Bueno (Cavaleiro Sports) - 1min03s542
30-) 3 Bia Figueiredo (União Química Racing) - 1min04s170